Qualifications and Skills

​EQF (European Qualifications Framework)

QQI is the contact point for the EQF in Ireland and is on the international advisory group developing the framework.  The EQF (European Qualifications Framework) is used to compare awards from qualifications systems throughout Europe. It consists of eight reference levels for awards from national qualifications systems and frameworks.

Ireland verified the compatibility of the Irish NFQ (National Qualifications Framework) with the EQF in 2009, one of the first countries in Europe to do so and through QQI, contributes through the ongoing development of the EQF.  QQI also updates on national progress in Recognition of Prior Learning (RPL) toward the achievement of the 2012 Council Recommendation through the throught the EQF Advisory Group  

For more about how these two frameworks relate to each other see our interactive framework fan diagram.  

Irish EU Reference Group of Agencies of the Department of Education and Skills

QQI, in collaboration with Léargas and Euroguidance at the National Centre for Guidance in Education (NCGE), host an annual meeting of the Group each year.  The aim of this meeting is to stimulate further and deeper reflection on how current initiatives, projects, policies and tools can be made more simple, and implemented in a more co-ordinated way, so as to deliver on the common objectives for quality, transparency and mobility in education and training.
For more information on the Group Annual meetings, Agenda and  presentations please see:

2021 (8th Annual Meeting) Report, Agenda and presentations 
2019 (7th Annual Meeting) Report, Agenda and presentations
2018 (6th Annual meeting) Report, Agenda and presentations
2017 (5th Annual meeting); Agenda and presentations
2016 (4th Annual meeting); Agenda and presentations
2015 (3rd Annual meeting); Agenda and presentations
2014 (2nd Annual meeting); Agenda and presentations